Leeds Beckett University UCU: hourly paid lecturers petition

Stamp out casual contracts at Leeds Beckett: our hourly paid lecturers deserve decent contracts

Hourly paid lecturers (HPLs) play a crucial role at Leeds Beckett University yet work on contracts that are precarious with no security of income or employment from one year to the next. Figures supplied to UCU show that in 2017/18, 370 HPLs taught a total of over 31,000 hours.  Without them the university simply could not function and many courses would cease to run. A survey carried out last year by UCU at the university demonstrated that many HPLs have considerable lengths of service and yet feel hugely undervalued. In addition, at least a third carry out work above their paygrade by, for example, taking on module leadership.

UCU have submitted a claim to permanently transfer all hourly paid lecturers teaching a minimum of 110 hours for two consecutive years onto permanent 0.2 contracts.  Management’s response currently falls far short of our claim, offering to make permanent only some HPLS working above 200 hrs. a year.  This would leave over 90% of HPLs in the same precarious positon that they are currently in. The university cannot keep exploiting the goodwill and professionalism of such a large body of its own staff. Please sign our petition to call on the university to meet our claim.

Leeds Beckett University UCU: hourly paid lecturers petition

Please sign our petition to transfer hourly paid lecturers on to permanent fractional contracts.

**your signature**

197 signatures

Share this with your friends:


197 Sarah Hemstock
196 Dr Elinor Parks
195 Peter Golding
194 Hannah Spruce
193 Peter Wainwright
192 Nick Joseph
191 Fred Dalmasso
190 Deborah Bower
189 D Parsons
188 Pritesh Karia
186 Paul Cheetham
185 Alex Ashcroft
184 Mr Eugene Smith
183 Mr Tim Briggs
182 Miss Katie Nurse
181 Mr Colin Waugh
180 Mrs Val Hartney
179 Dr Alison Iredale
178 Ms Trish Mensah
177 Dr Bob Cant
176 Mrs Lyn Porter
175 Dr Dinah Murray
174 Ms Gillian de Wolf
173 Professor Jamie Morgan
172 Ms Merilyn Moos
171 Mr Steven Gregory
170 Dr Nidia Veitch
169 Mr Frans af Malmborg
168 Dr Muhammad Ali Nasir
167 Ms Chris Carbery
166 Dr Tom Kent
165 Dr Gregory de Boer
164 Mr Ben Dalton
163 Mr Ritchard Emm
162 Miss Faye Fisher
161 Dr Mark Carrigan
160 Dr Alice Ievins
159 Dr Mariana Galante
158 Mr Peter Griffin
157 Ms Lynn Foot
156 Dr J Sanders
155 Mr Alex Oakes
154 Mr Dylan Carver
153 Dr Lena Wanggren
152 Miss Uma Ruparelia
151 Professor Michael Wayne
150 Dr Miriam Gill
149 Ms Jess Amberson
148 Mrs Jenny Harris
147 Mr josh bannister
146 Mr Ewan Knops
145 Dr Anne Hurren
144 Mr Michael Ford
143 Dr Anna de Jong
142 Ms Helen McFarlane
141 Mrs Carol Doherty
140 Dr Rachel Sumner
139 Mr Cornelius Medvei
138 Mrs Juana Johnson
137 Dr Terri Grassby
136 Professor Jill Maben
135 Dr Alison Cottell
134 Mr José Fernandez-Tunon
133 Dr John Willott
132 Mr Charlie Hind
131 Ms Jacqueline Wilkinson
130 Miss Evie Rose
129 Mr David Smith
128 Ms Maria Mercedes Cuenca-Franco
127 Dr Mara Fuertes Gutierrez
126 Mr Andrew Higson
125 Mrs Andrea Heaton
124 Ms Jennifer Marchant
123 Dr Bianca de Haan
122 Ms Martha Schulman
121 Ms Colette Maxfield
120 Mr Yonatan Collier
119 Mr Ruben Worth
118 Dr Ian Bailey
117 Mr Alex Goodall
116 Miss Catherine O’Neill
115 Ms Tracey Myers
114 Mr Harry Lindley
113 Dr Phil Harding
112 Dr Robert Hornsby
111 Dr Alison Sheldon
110 Mrs Lynda Heaton
109 Mr Luke Dickson
108 Mrs Francine Carpenter
107 Mr Jake Godward
106 Mr Alistair Heaton
105 Mr Ben Marcano
104 Mr Ed Heaton
103 Dr Steve Jones
102 Ms M. Raffuzzi
101 Ms Laura Shand
100 Mr James Brooks-Park
99 Ms Kathleen O'Donnell
98 Mr Tor Satherley
97 Mr Stephen Mole
96 Dr Matt Green
95 Mr Matthew Ashley
94 Dr Paul Wetherly
93 Dr Jane Turner
92 Dr Robert Jubb
91 Mrs Marta Suarez
90 Dr Patricia Boulhosa
89 Ms Marina Rabadan
88 Professor Leon Black
87 Dr Rachel Krische
86 Emeritus Professor Dave Webb
85 Dr Jess Clapham
84 Ms Shan Ashton
83 Dr Davide Sterchele
81 Dr Harriet Mahood
80 Dr Mary-Ellen Large
79 Ms Tina Jenkins
78 Mrs Diana Pizmas
77 Dr S H Garwood
76 Ms Heather Bottomley
75 Mrs Hilary Shires
74 Dr Ben Davies
73 Dr Heike Schaumberg
72 Professor Emma Clery
71 Mr Andrew Bull
70 Dr Hilary Fraser
69 Ms Rebecca Lindsay
68 Miss Catherine Burrell
67 Mrs Muriel Cordoba
66 Dr Edward Robinson
65 Dr sareen galbraith
64 Dr Dunstan Roberts
63 Dr Elizabeth Savage
62 Ms Ros Chiosso
61 Professor David Carless
60 Dr Gregory Hollin
59 Dr Beatrice Ivey
58 Dr Melani Schroeter
57 Dr Sandra Cortijo
56 Dr Liz stirling
55 Dr Anna Zaluczkowska
54 Dr Helena Chadderton
53 Dr John Gallagher
52 Dr Helen Finch
51 Mrs Deepa Govindarajan Driver
50 Dr Nina Wardleworth
49 Dr Jamie Melrose
48 Dr Muthu Ramachandran
47 Dr Maxine Woolhouse
46 Dr Helen Rodgers
45 Mr Karl Hodge
44 Dr Julia Calver
43 Mr Sean Dodson
42 Mrs Ulrike Hitchen
41 Professor Robert MacKenzie
40 Dr Quintin Bradley
39 Dr Ian Lamond
38 Dr Lee Tucker
37 Dr Christopher Till
36 Dr Natalia Gerodetti
35 Dr Justin Morey
34 Dr Jon Dart
33 Ms Carmen Bruegmann
32 Mr Stephen Robson
31 Dr Andrew Wilson
30 Professor Stephen Wagg
29 Dr Catherine Tucker
28 Mr Steve Jones
27 Ms Susan Coan
26 Dr Dan Bates
25 Mr Dave Procter
24 Mr Neil Kelley
23 Dr Tom Goodwin
22 Dr Yana Wengel
21 Dr Anthony Drummond
20 Mr Neil Barnett
19 Dr Jessica Drakett
18 Dr Don Crewe
17 Dr Brian Hanley
16 Dr Kris Southby
15 Ms Vivienne Gaskin
14 Mr Alex Stevenson
13 Dr Michael Klingenberg
12 Mr Dave Raybould
11 Mr Lewis Simpson
10 Dr Katherine Harrison
9 Dr Donna Johnson
8 Ms Jenny Woodward
7 Dr Alison Wilde
6 Dr Daniela Burroni Donahue
5 Dr Barbara Henderson
4 Mrs Wendy Altinors
3 Dr Zoë Tew-Thompson
2 Ms Annemarie Piso
1 Mr Edward Bailey